Open a Dubai beauty-booking app and search "tattoo removal" and the number that stops your thumb is AED 79. Not a course. Not even a guaranteed full session on a proper machine. One sitting, on a small area, at a venue sharing a listing page with brow threading and gel manicures. Run the same search on a clinic's own website and the number starts in the hundreds and climbs into the thousands, with no obvious bridge between the two worlds.
Both prices are real. Both are currently live in Dubai. What almost nothing on either page tells you is which one you are legally allowed to book, or what the honest total looks like once you multiply a single session by the number of sessions this actually takes.
Dubai clinic pages selling laser tattoo removal describe themselves, almost word for word, as safe and effective. Session counts appear on most pages, somewhere. Prices appear as a range or a "from" figure. What we did not find on a single one of the pages we checked was a plain statement of what body of law governs who is allowed to hold the laser, why some ink colours do not clear at all, or why one specific ink family can turn darker under the exact treatment meant to fade it. Dubai's own health regulator has answered the first question in more detail than most people assume, and answered it more strictly than the equivalent rule for laser hair removal. The other two questions sit in the clinical literature, not on any local menu.
The rule Dubai's regulator actually has
The Dubai Health Authority's Standards for Non-Surgical Cosmetic Procedures (code DHA/HRS/HPSD/ST-05, issue 2.1, effective 18 February 2025) sets out, in a single appendix table, exactly which professionals are permitted to perform each non-surgical procedure in the emirate. Row 19 of that table, Appendix 1 of the published standard, reads "Laser Removal of tattoos," and ticks exactly two columns: dermatologist or plastic surgeon, and other physician or GP with documented training. Nurse, physiotherapist, massage therapist and beauty therapist all get a plain cross. No footnote softens it, and no supervised pathway is offered to any of those four.
That absence of a footnote is the detail worth sitting with. Compare it to row 14, "Hair laser removal and IPL," which carries a superscript tying it to a supervision clause: a nurse or beauty therapist can hold a DHA "License technician" title [sic, an apparent typo for the credential named elsewhere in the standard] and operate that device inside a licensed facility, under a physician's written plan. Laser hair removal has a legal, supervised, non-physician route. Tattoo removal does not. It is a stricter rule than the one governing the machine sitting next to it in the same treatment room, and the standard's own clause 7.11.3, which lists the two procedures a beauty therapist may never perform unsupervised in a salon (hair laser removal and IPL, microneedling), does not need to mention tattoo removal at all, because Appendix 1 never gave a beauty therapist a tick for it in the first place. A Dubai clinic-licensing consultancy's own guide to setting up an aesthetic practice states the same classification in plain terms, listing laser tattoo removal alongside Botox and dermal fillers as procedures reserved to a DHA-licensed physician in a DHA-licensed clinic, and warning that a beauty-salon trade licence covering it would be operating outside the law.
Row 28 of the same appendix is where the story turns genuinely interesting. It covers "Semi-permanent Makeup, Micro-blading and removal of semi-permanent makeup including eyebrow and lip tattoo," and it does tick beauty therapist. A beauty therapist may legally remove a semi-permanent eyebrow or lip tattoo in Dubai. She may never touch a laser aimed at an ordinary body tattoo. The standard does not specify which method is used for row 28's removal, so this is not proof that a laser is in the room during a semi-permanent makeup appointment. It is, still, a clean regulatory contrast worth knowing before it becomes relevant, and it becomes relevant a little further down this article, once you know which ink family causes the most trouble under a laser.

The device belongs behind a physician's door, not a beauty station.
DHA/HRS/HPSD/ST-05, APPENDIX 1
Laser removal of a body tattoo
Physician only, no exceptions
- Dermatologist or plastic surgeon
- Permitted, row 19
- Other physician or GP
- Permitted with documented training, row 19
- Nurse
- Not permitted, no supervised pathway offered
- Beauty therapist
- Not permitted, no supervised pathway offered
Hair laser removal and IPL, for comparison
A supervised technician route exists
- Nurse or beauty therapist
- May operate inside a DHA-licensed facility, holding the added licence title the standard names, under a physician's written plan
- Never
- In an ordinary salon without that supervision chain
Removal of semi-permanent makeup, eyebrow and lip tattoo
Beauty therapist permitted
- Appendix 1, row 28
- Ticks beauty therapist directly
- The pigment class
- Flesh-tone and cosmetic ink, the class most linked to paradoxical darkening
- Method
- Not specified in the standard, may not be laser-based
The regulatory contrast, stated plainly
The riskier pigment sits in the less-supervised category
- Body tattoo ink
- Physician only, the strictest rule in this article
- Cosmetic and permanent-makeup ink
- The pigment most prone to paradoxical darkening, and beauty-therapist-permitted
- The question to ask
- What device is actually being used, not just what the menu calls the service
We covered the equivalent, more permissive rule for laser hair removal in Dubai separately, and the same footnote-supervision route applies to IPL. Tattoo removal is the one laser procedure in this whole category with no legal salon-tier version at all, supervised or not.
What that machine is actually doing, and why it takes so many passes
A tattoo-removal laser fires an extremely short pulse of light at a wavelength the ink absorbs strongly. A Q-switched device does this in nanoseconds; a picosecond device does it a thousand times faster still. Either way, the pulse is short enough that its energy shatters the ink particle before heat has time to spread into the surrounding skin. The fragments are then small enough for the body's own immune cells to carry away through the lymphatic system, over the following weeks rather than the following minutes, which is the reason results appear gradually across a course rather than in one visit, and the reason clinics space sessions apart instead of stacking them.
International clinical guidance converges on six to twelve-plus sessions for meaningful clearance, spaced six to eight weeks apart to let each round of fragmented ink clear before the next. Cleveland Clinic states it plainly: it can take between six and 12 visits and sometimes more before results show. UCSF Health gives a wider band, five to 10 sessions for some patients and up to 20 in others, with sessions typically six to eight weeks apart. The peer-reviewed literature sharpens this rather than contradicting it. A 2026 study predicting session counts with picosecond lasers, published in the Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, tracked 545 patients between 2019 and 2024 and found an average of 8.4 sessions, while noting the older Kirby-Desai scale, calibrated on nanosecond Q-switched devices, was built around 10 to 15 sessions for a complete professional multicolour tattoo. A separate 130-patient head-to-head study comparing the two technologies directly found the median number of sessions to reach excellent clearance was 3.00 on picosecond against 4.00 on Q-switched, a statistically significant gap, though this particular cohort was 83 per cent blue or black ink, which clears faster than most tattoos.
THE CLINICAL LITERATURE
Picosecond 1064nm
78% reach excellent clearance
- Excellent clearance (76–100%)
- 78.08%, 57 of 73 patients
- Median sessions to excellent clearance
- 3.00
- Overall effectiveness, over 50% clearance
- 94.52%
Q-switched 1064nm
54% reach excellent clearance
- Excellent clearance (76–100%)
- 54.39%, 31 of 57 patients
- Median sessions to excellent clearance
- 4.00
- Overall effectiveness, over 50% clearance
- 85.96%
Study basis
130 patients, one retrospective study
- Source
- Chen J et al, Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology 2026
- Population
- 83% blue or black ink
- Significance
- Clearance and session-count differences both statistically significant
The older calibration, for context
Modern devices need far fewer sessions
- Nanosecond Q-switched, professional multicolour tattoo
- Historically 10 to 15 sessions, Kirby-Desai scale
- Modern picosecond systems
- 5 to 8 sessions
- A 545-patient cohort
- Averaged 8.4 sessions, Pedrelli et al 2026
There is no single correct number for every tattoo, and every Dubai clinic page we checked that states a session count sits somewhere inside this 3 to 12 range, so the range itself is not the problem. An amateur, single-colour, black tattoo on a modern picosecond machine at a well-run clinic can clear in as few as three to six sessions. A professional, dense, multicolour piece on an older Q-switched device can run past 10. What is missing on almost every page is the arithmetic that connects a stated session count to the stated per-session price, which becomes the real story once you reach the money section below.
Not every ink colour behaves the same way
Black ink is the easy case. It absorbs broadly across the near-infrared wavelengths these devices use. Within a 2026 systematic review of 46 studies of Nd:YAG lasers, published in the Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology (the review states plainly that a formal meta-analysis was not possible given how differently the 46 studies were designed, so nothing here is a pooled figure), one included study of 21 patients found picosecond systems clearing black ink at around 92 per cent, with yellow at 85 per cent and red at 80 per cent in the same cohort, each using a wavelength matched precisely to that colour. Green ink is a different story, and the review does not soften it: coloured inks were "largely resistant" across the studies it covered, green worst of all. Colour response, in other words, depends heavily on which specific wavelength is aimed at which specific pigment, not on a single blanket laser setting, and a single 21-patient study is a real data point, not a citywide average.
One Dubai provider states this more candidly than any other page we read. Medical Village, a DHA-facility tattoo removal provider, writes on its own service page that greens, light blues and yellows are harder and may need more sessions, and separately that yellows and whites remain the most challenging. That statement matches the peer-reviewed pattern closely enough to quote directly, as one clinic's own published guidance rather than an independent clinical finding. Not every Dubai page agrees. Euromed Clinic Center's tattoo-removal page claims its picosecond device removes colours including green, red and yellow "effectively," a materially more optimistic claim than either the systematic review or Medical Village's own page supports. The disagreement is worth knowing exists, rather than smoothing over, because it means a picosecond machine on the brochure is not, by itself, a guarantee about any specific colour.
WHAT THE BEFORE-AND-AFTER PHOTOS DON'T SHOW
Black and dark blue
Clears best
- Picosecond clearance
- Around 92% in one 21-patient study within a 2026 systematic review
- Why
- Absorbs broadly across the near-infrared wavelengths these lasers use
Green, yellow, red
Inconsistent, often resistant
- Systematic review finding
- "Largely resistant" across the pooled studies
- The exception
- Some individual studies report 80% to 85% clearance with a wavelength matched precisely to the colour
- One Dubai clinic's own words
- "Harder and may need more sessions"
White, flesh-tone, cosmetic pigment
The most challenging, and the riskiest
- One Dubai clinic's own words
- "Yellows and whites remain the most challenging"
- The specific risk
- Titanium dioxide and iron oxide in these inks can chemically darken instead of fading
- Linked to
- Permanent makeup ink, tattoos under one year old, coloured ink, Fitzpatrick III and above
What no Dubai page discloses
The paradoxical darkening rate
- Measured rate
- 0.2% of all sessions in a 173-practitioner survey
- The caveat
- Likely materially higher within the white, flesh-tone and permanent-makeup ink subgroup alone
The colour that can turn darker instead of fading
This is the finding that connects directly back to the regulatory contrast above, and no Dubai clinic page we read mentions it at all. A subset of tattoo pigments, most consistently white, beige, flesh-toned, peach and pink, contain titanium dioxide or iron oxide compounds. A high-energy Q-switched or picosecond pulse can trigger a chemical reduction reaction in these compounds, converting a light-coloured oxidised form into a dark reduced form, so the tattoo turns visibly darker immediately after the exact treatment meant to fade it, sometimes on the first pass.
The mechanism was first documented properly in a 2010 case report in the Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, which describes a pink tattoo darkening after a single Q-switched pass and eventually clearing once the approach changed. That paper establishes the mechanism and the ink classes involved. It does not establish how often it happens, because it is a single case. The only source we found that quantifies the rate is a 2026 survey of 173 Dutch dermal therapists, published in Dermatology, 94 of whom actively perform laser tattoo removal. Across all the sessions those practitioners self-reported, paradoxical darkening occurred in 0.2 per cent of sessions, against an overall complication rate of 8.1 per cent across every category the survey tracked. That 0.2 per cent figure is a blended rate across every ink colour and every patient in the survey, not a rate specific to white or flesh-tone ink. The same paper found a statistically significant association between paradoxical darkening and four factors: Fitzpatrick skin type III and above, coloured tattoos, permanent makeup, and tattoos younger than one year. Treat the 0.2 per cent figure as the floor across the whole population, not as the odds facing anyone with a pink or white-ink tattoo specifically, because the true rate within that narrower group would sit materially higher.
Permanent makeup is one of the four statistically associated factors, and permanent makeup pigment is precisely the flesh-toned, cosmetic ink family the mechanism is built around. Set that against row 28 of DHA's own appendix, which is the one tattoo-adjacent category open to a beauty therapist. This is not a claim that DHA has misjudged the risk, since row 28 does not specify that a laser is the method being used, and non-laser techniques for permanent makeup removal, such as saline lifting, do not carry this specific chemical risk. It is a documented, checkable irony worth knowing before booking an eyebrow or lip tattoo removed anywhere: ask what device is actually in the room, not only what the appointment is called on the menu.
Darker skin, and the numbers that actually apply here
Two genuinely tattoo-removal-specific datasets exist here, and they measure different things, which matters more than which number is bigger. One study inside that same 2026 review, an 11-patient split-lesion comparison, found post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation in 21.6 to 35.1 per cent of tattoos, and hypopigmentation that varies sharply by laser type, from 38 per cent on a Ruby laser to 2 per cent on Alexandrite and 0 per cent on Nd:YAG. The same small study recorded paradoxical darkening in 5.4 per cent of its own cohort, a rate well above the 0.2 per cent blended, all-ink figure from the larger practitioner survey below, and a reminder that one small study on a specific ink and device combination can tell a very different story from a broad average. The review's own overall conclusion is that Nd:YAG lasers carry a more favourable safety profile than shorter-wavelength systems, including in cohorts with darker Fitzpatrick skin types, which is why 1064nm Nd:YAG is the wavelength named most often on Dubai clinic pages.
The most directly relevant safety data for this region comes from a 2024 prospective study, published in Lasers in Medical Science, of 20 Middle Eastern patients, 70 per cent Fitzpatrick type IV, treated with a 1064nm, 450-picosecond Nd:YAG device across two sessions eight weeks apart. All patients experienced pain, erythema and petechiae, and 80 per cent had oedema resolving within a day, which is the expected, ordinary picture. No hyperpigmentation or hypopigmentation appeared in this specific cohort, and the study's own authors added their own caveat: the wider literature reports up to 20 per cent hypopigmentation with other picosecond systems. This is a small, single-centre, two-session study limited to black ink only. It is an encouraging early data point for Fitzpatrick IV skin on this specific device and ink colour. It is not evidence that picosecond tattoo removal is broadly safe across every skin tone and every ink family, and neither the practitioner survey's blended complication figures nor the systematic review's pooled range should be presented as one single tattoo-removal complication rate, because they are measuring genuinely different things.

Each pass shatters a little more ink. It was never going to be one visit.
READ THE DENOMINATOR
A 173-practitioner survey, per session
8.1% overall complication rate
- Oedema
- 3.0% of sessions
- Blistering
- 1.9% of sessions
- Hypopigmentation
- 0.6% of sessions
- Hyperpigmentation
- 0.5% of sessions
- Hypertrophic scarring
- 0.2% of sessions
- Allergic reaction
- 0.1% of sessions, rare but documented
A 46-study systematic review, per tattoo, pooled
A wider, higher range
- Post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation
- 21.6% to 35.1% in one 11-patient study within a 2026 systematic review
- Hypopigmentation by laser type
- Ruby 38%, Alexandrite 2%, Nd:YAG 0%, in specific sub-studies
- Scarring
- Up to 17% in at least one included study
Why the two disagree so much
Different measurement, not different truth
- The survey
- Counts complications per treatment session, across all ink colours and skin tones combined
- The review
- Pools complications per tattoo across very different study designs and higher-risk populations
- Neither
- Should be presented as the single tattoo-removal complication rate
The Middle East-specific data point
One small, encouraging study
- Cohort
- 20 patients, 70% Fitzpatrick IV, picosecond Nd:YAG, black ink only
- Result
- No hyperpigmentation or hypopigmentation in this cohort
- The authors' own caveat
- "Literature reports up to 20% hypopigmentation with other picosecond modalities"
No verified 2024 to 2026 UAE news report of a laser-tattoo-removal-specific burn, scarring or pigmentation injury turned up in our search of local coverage. That is a genuine gap in what has been publicly reported, not evidence that the treatment is either especially safe or especially risky here, and it should be read as exactly that. What does exist, and is worth naming as backdrop rather than as a tattoo-removal finding specifically, is a Khaleej Times report from August 2025 on three women arrested for running an unlicensed cosmetic clinic from a residential apartment. A dermatologist quoted in that piece described complications she had treated from unlicensed procedures generally, including burns from unsafe devices and cases where nerve damage or deep scarring became irreversible. The article does not name tattoo removal among the procedures involved, and this should not be read as a tattoo-removal incident. It is the general enforcement climate this treatment sits inside.
The price on the screen, and the price of the course
Dubai's advertised entry price for laser tattoo removal runs as low as AED 79 to AED 299 per session on discounted or small-area tiers, with most clinic-published per-session figures clustering between AED 300 and AED 800 for small to medium tattoos, and open-ended ranges reaching AED 3,000 to 5,000 for large or dense colour work. Almost none of the Dubai pages we checked state a bundled full-course price, even though every page that names a session count is quietly admitting a single session was never the actual product.
WHAT THE MENU SAYS
One Dubai clinic does the sum itself, and it is worth using as the honest example. Dynamic Life Clinics publishes both a discounted "starting from AED 299" headline and its own estimated yearly cost for a medium tattoo of AED 3,699, on the same page, for the same treatment. A reader anchored on the headline figure is looking at roughly a twelvefold understatement of the course cost the clinic itself publishes two scrolls further down. Reconstructing the same arithmetic independently, using that clinic's own published medium-tattoo per-session rate of AED 599 against the six to 12-session range stated by Medical Village and Glamorous Clinic, and matching the peer-reviewed Kirby-Desai baseline above, a realistic full course for a medium tattoo runs AED 3,594 to AED 7,188. This is our own arithmetic from two separately sourced Dubai inputs, not a quoted course price from any single clinic, and it should be read as exactly that.
BELLORA'S OWN ARITHMETIC, NOT A QUOTE
Put plainly: Dubai's lowest advertised entry figures describe one discounted session on a small tattoo. A realistic full course for a medium tattoo, using Dubai clinics' own published numbers, runs roughly 12 to 25 times that headline figure, not the same number repeated across every visit. No page we checked states whether its published price includes or excludes the 5 per cent VAT that applies to cosmetic procedures of this kind, so we cannot tell you either way, and neither can most of the clinics quoting you.
Two clinic pages also contradict themselves internally, worth naming because it bears directly on how much a reader can trust a single skim of any one page. Tajmeels states both "5 to 6 sessions" and "4 to 10 sessions" for the identical procedure without reconciling the two anywhere on the same page. Novomed's own page does the same thing with price rather than sessions: the main body states AED 500 to AED 3,000 per session, while the page's own FAQ block, two paragraphs later, states AED 500 to AED 2,500 for the identical question. Neither inconsistency is necessarily dishonest, since different tattoo sizes and colours genuinely need different numbers. Neither page explains the gap to a reader skimming past it, which is the more useful thing to know before you screenshot a price and assume it is fixed.
What to ask before you book through a marketplace app

The honest number, and the honest question about who is holding the laser, both belong in this conversation before it starts.
A live search of the Fresha marketplace for "tattoo removal treatments" in Dubai surfaces beauty-salon-branded venues alongside genuine clinics, at prices from around AED 79 to AED 600 on the main listing. Unlike laser hair removal or IPL, which do have a real, if narrow, supervised route inside a DHA facility for a nurse or beauty therapist, laser removal of a body tattoo has no legal salon-tier version at all. A booking labelled "tattoo removal" at a salon-branded venue on a general beauty marketplace raises the licence question directly, not merely the budget-versus-clinic question the same search would raise for hair removal.
We did not verify the actual licence class of any specific venue surfaced this way, and this is not an accusation against any named business. Some of those listings, particularly ones branded around permanent makeup, may genuinely be offering the beauty-therapist-permitted removal of semi-permanent eyebrow or lip tattoos rather than laser removal of a body tattoo, and the two are different procedures under DHA's own table. The honest, checkable question to ask before booking anything called tattoo removal at a beauty-salon-style venue is simple: is the device a medical laser, does the venue hold a DHA facility licence, and is a physician the one operating it. If the answer to any of those is unclear, that uncertainty is the answer.
Two clinics in our directory list laser tattoo removal directly against a verified service entry: Elite Style Polyclinic on Sheikh Zayed Road, and Laser Skin Care Clinic Dubai in Jumeirah. Both sit in our Laser & Skin directory category, alongside the wider set of DHA-licensed providers we track across the Bellora directory.
Common questions
How much does laser tattoo removal cost in Dubai?
Published per-session figures cluster between AED 300 and AED 800 for small to medium tattoos, with discounted entry rates as low as AED 79 to AED 299 and open-ended ranges up to AED 3,000 to 5,000 for large, dense colour work. Almost no page states a full-course total, which is a separate, larger number.
How many sessions does it actually take to remove a tattoo?
Six to 12 or more, spaced six to eight weeks apart, is the range international clinical guidance and the peer-reviewed literature both support. A well-run picosecond clinic can clear a small black tattoo in as few as three to six sessions. A dense, professional, multicolour tattoo on an older Q-switched device can run past 10.
Does laser tattoo removal work on every ink colour?
No. Black clears best, at around 92 per cent in the pooled studies of one 2026 systematic review. Green, yellow and red are largely resistant, though some studies show strong clearance when the wavelength is matched precisely to the colour. White and flesh-tone pigment are the hardest of all, by more than one Dubai clinic's own admission.
Can a tattoo removal laser make my tattoo darker instead of lighter?
Yes, in a documented, specific way. White, beige, flesh-toned, peach and pink inks containing titanium dioxide or iron oxide can chemically darken under a Q-switched or picosecond pulse rather than fade. It is uncommon across all sessions and treatment types, roughly 0.2 per cent in the one survey that measured it, but that figure is a blended rate, and the true rate is statistically concentrated in coloured ink, permanent makeup, tattoos under a year old, and Fitzpatrick skin type III and above.
Is laser tattoo removal safe on darker skin?
Darker Fitzpatrick skin carries a materially higher risk of pigment-related complications than lighter skin, and the laser wavelength chosen changes that risk meaningfully, with Nd:YAG generally safer than shorter wavelengths like Ruby. A small 2024 Middle Eastern study of 20 patients, mostly Fitzpatrick IV, reported no hyper or hypopigmentation on a picosecond Nd:YAG device with black ink over two sessions, alongside the study authors' own caution that the wider literature reports up to 20 per cent hypopigmentation with other picosecond systems.
Does laser tattoo removal leave scars?
It can, though the rate depends heavily on which study you read and how it counts. A practitioner survey reported hypertrophic scarring in 0.2 per cent of sessions. A systematic review pooling different study designs reported scarring as high as 17 per cent in at least one included study. Both are genuine findings measuring different things, and neither should be treated as the single scarring rate.
Is picosecond laser better than Q-switched for tattoo removal?
In the largest head-to-head comparison we found, 130 patients, picosecond reached excellent clearance in a median of 3 sessions against 4 for Q-switched, and 78 per cent of picosecond patients reached excellent clearance against 54 per cent on Q-switched. Both figures were statistically significant, though the study population skewed heavily toward blue and black ink, which clears faster on either technology.
Can a beauty salon legally do laser tattoo removal in Dubai?
No. DHA's Appendix 1 gives nurses and beauty therapists a flat cross for laser removal of a body tattoo, with no supervised pathway offered at all, which is stricter than the rule for laser hair removal and IPL. There is no legal salon-tier version of this specific treatment in Dubai.
Can eyebrow or lip permanent makeup tattoos be removed the same way?
Removal of semi-permanent makeup, including eyebrow and lip tattoo, sits in a separate row of DHA's table that does permit a beauty therapist, but the standard does not say the method used has to be a laser. Ask directly what device is being used before assuming the two services are identical.
Will my tattoo fully disappear, or just fade?
Black and dark blue ink can clear close to fully on modern devices. Green, yellow, red, white and flesh-tone ink often only fade, sometimes substantially, sometimes only partially, and a full course does not guarantee complete removal for every colour.
Sources and methodology
Regulatory statements here are quoted directly from DHA's Standards for Non-Surgical Cosmetic Procedures, version 2.1, downloaded in full and searched by text for every reference to tattoo removal. Clinical figures carry their study design and sample size wherever we cite them, because in this topic the design is the finding: a practitioner survey, a systematic review and a single-centre study measure genuinely different things and should never be blended into one number. AED prices are indicative 2026 market estimates read from published Dubai provider pages on a stated date, attributed to the page that published them, never averaged into a single market figure, and never assigned a low bound the clinic itself did not publish. We review this article periodically and update figures as menus and the underlying standard change.
This is informational and is not individual medical advice. Confirm the licence, the device, the ink assessment and the realistic session count with the named physician who would actually perform your procedure.
- Standards for Non-Surgical Cosmetic Procedures, version 2.1, Dubai Health Authority, effective 18 February 2025
- Kirby W, Kaur RR, Desai A, Paradoxical darkening and removal of pink tattoo ink, Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology 2010
- Poelhekken M, Velthuis PJ, Tjin EPM, Quant DAK, van der Bent SAS, Practitioner-Reported Complications in Tattoo Removal, Dermatology 2026
- Chen J, Liu Y, Gong Y, Ma S, Liang B, Zhu H, Q-Switched 1064-nm Laser Versus Picosecond 1064-nm Laser in Tattoo Removal, Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology 2026
- Wong J, Khan S, Tandel M, Dajani Z, Seth I, Efficacy of Nd:YAG Lasers for Tattoo Removal: Systematic Review of Clinical Outcomes, Clearance Rates, and Treatment Parameters, Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology 2026
- Pedrelli V, Tauro E, Clementoni MT, Zevini A, Barini R, Caiani EG, Prediction of Tattoo Removal Sessions With Picosecond Lasers, Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology 2026
- Ismail MA, Elgarhy LH, Hassan GFR, Hawwam SA, Removal of black tattoos by Picosecond Q-switched Nd-YAG laser in the middle eastern skin type IV, Lasers in Medical Science 2024
- Laser Tattoo Removal, Cleveland Clinic
- Laser Tattoo Removal, UCSF Health
- UAE: Doctors Warn Of Permanent Damage, Injuries From Illegal Cosmetic Work, Khaleej Times, 14 August 2025
Clinics in our directory include Elite Style Polyclinic on Sheikh Zayed Road and Laser Skin Care Clinic Dubai in Jumeirah, both listing tattoo removal against a verified service entry in our Laser & Skin directory category.